I Ching Sequencer Tiny Sequencer

The I Ching Sequencer

is the result of working with the I Ching solely at the single hexagram level and finding the need for a new perspective on the hexagrams as a whole.

A brief introduction to the I Ching will likely include some mention of its relationship to "change" and cycles.

It is also generally known that the I Ching consists of 64 hexagrams (ideograms formed of six broken or solid lines each) and that these represent all the possible manifestations of change.

Studying the hexagrams is usually a slow, meditative process. In "consulting the oracle" one either casts yarrow stalks or more commonly coins to derive a hexagram. Once the hexagram has been established, a reading of the commentaries and various texts (Wings) associated with this hexagram is undertaken. There may be "changing lines" in the hexagram, in which case additional related hexagrams are derived.

We can use the metaphor of time-lapse photography to explain the basic purpose and function of the I Ching Sequencer.

If one were to sit and watch a sunflower throughout the course of one day, it would be impossible to actually see the movement; although during the one day cycle periodic recognition of movement would occur to the viewer.

If a time-lapse movie of this same sunflower were made by condensing one day into one minute we could see the "magic" of heliotropic plants (those which follow the sun).

By compressing and animating a series of changing pictures we can gain a new view of the otherwise non-linear sequence.

The I Ching Sequencer can therefore be thought of as time-lapse movies of historical and significant I Ching sequences.

Copyright © 2006 Tao Lodge China
Art/Design Tao Lodge China

Tao Lodge